“The Graduate” – Directed by Mike Nichols

This movie is a classic, as in buy/rent it today if you have not seen it and put it on to watch tonight because you must see it immediately. Made in 1967, this movie starred a “cougar” before there was a term for it–or there might have been but I am certainly not aware of it. I had never seen it before and Netflix kept suggesting it to me so I thought it was about time.

Most of you readers have probably seen this movie so I will not go into the plot much but I must say that the fact that the soundtrack was made entirely by Simon and Garfunkel made me love it even before it started.

I am embarrassed to say that I did not make the connection between Simon and Garfunkel’s song, “Mrs. Robinson,” and the film until late in the game. However, realizing this connection showed me just how large an impact this film has had on our culture. I understood the connotations behind “Mrs. Robinson” without even knowing about the film probably when I was just 12 years old. What other movies have had that kind of impact?

Dustin Hoffman (Benjamin Braddock) stars as a young man (and he was quite handsome) recently graduated from college and lost in a sea of possibilities. He is innocent, naive, and has been pampered by his parents so much that it is truly comical. He is seduced by his father’s law partner’s wife (Mrs. Robinson) and finds his confidence–and his libido–within the rooms of the Taft Hotel where they spend every night together.

However, Benjamin is continually plagued by his conscience and later, his growing desire for Elaine, Mrs. Robinson’s daughter. The plot carries forward from there with Mrs. Robinson’s obscene jealousy and plans to keep her daughter away from Benjamin at any cost.

What a fantastic film. It is witty, funny when you may not expect it, and the effects of the cinematography are incredible–and that is saying something when we are in an age of movies such as “Avatar” with absolutely mind-numbing special effects. I was completely captured and charmed by it and am planning to add it to my own personal movie collection.

And, I would just like to say that Anne Bancroft (Mrs. Robinson) aged more gracefully than I have ever seen in Hollywood. What a beautiful woman!

Leave a Reply

