Atlas Shrugged (aka, serious commitment)

It has been a while since my last book post, so I thought I would share why. I am in the middle of taking on a book that may be the longest I have ever read. Deciding to start it is like beginning a relationship with someone because it just takes so long to digest what is considered a highly philosophical work–very heavy reading!

I am reading “Atlas Shrugged” by Ayn Rand and have finally reached a midpoint. The book was loaned to me by a friend and I have heard much about its tale of capitalism and other philosophical themes. It is also a love story and a study of human relationships and I think those aspects have kept me going when I get bogged down by the heavy theory and industrial detail Rand keeps prevalent throughout the book.

I finally got to the cornerstone of the book’s title this week–Atlas is the mythological god who carries the world on his shoulders and one of the characters asks the question, “What would you do if you were Atlas and the weight of the world had become too much to bear?” He goes on to suggest that he would just shrug it off and let things fall where they may. The story tells of a time when this seems to have occurred–there seems to be chaos and a loss of order. Society is falling apart and government is taking control of all industry in an effort to re-center the world.

Obviously, there are certain analogies with certain political perspectives and modern allegory, but I have been reading this book from an objective view and hope to offer an objective opinion when I have reached its end.

So, that is it for now because I don’t want to say too much until I have figured out where the story is going to go from here. I will say that it is very interesting to be reading this book amid our current economic climate.

I have seen a couple of interesting movies that I will be posting on soon, but just wanted to share a bit on Atlas Shrugged for now.

Leave a Reply

