Sherlock Holmes- Starring Robert Downey, Jr.

What a great film! I enjoyed this movie immensely. It has honestly been a long time since I watched a movie that captivated me so much–perhaps since “The Dark Knight.” I really love a good action film that is not just gory and that has a complicated, intriguing plot line that accompanies the special effects. In addition, I also love secret societies and if you know me, you might know something about my fascination with the Free Masons, fraternities, the Mafia, etc. etc.

“Sherlock Holmes” combines all of these elements to make for an exhilarating movie that was entertaining and suspenseful throughout the duration. Holmes, played by Robert Downey, Jr., is the quirky scientist/detective whose seemingly hapless actions always have some sort of purpose in mind and whose luck in defeating those that seem stronger/smarter than himself is truly amazing. Watson (Jude Law) is the doctor who has accompanied Holmes in solving prior cases and is trying to break free from the duo’s tendencies to get into trouble so that he can marry his beloved and live a more “normal” life.

Rachel McAdams also stars in this film as Holmes’ love interest Irene Adler, a deviant one at that. She is witty, talented, coquettish and charming. She is one of my favorite actresses and it was fun to see her play a role like this one.

The film’s plot centers on one central villain, Blackwood, and his use of dark arts to try to overthrow the British government. While I will not go into too much plot detail per my usual attempt to encourage you to see the film yourself and not give too much away, I will say that I think the film aligns itself as a first episode in what I think might become a series.

Perhaps Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law are becoming the next Batman-esque figures? I hope so.

2 thoughts on “Sherlock Holmes- Starring Robert Downey, Jr.

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Earn Free Vouchers / Cash

Leave a Reply

