“Good Reads” – Social Media for Book Lovers

This is a first for this blog to venture from the strict rule I have about only reviewing books and movies, but I am writing to share with you a new website I discovered that was designed for book lovers. It is called “Good Reads” and it is a social media tool for folks to share what they are reading, their ratings and reviews, and to seek recommendations based on the books they have already read.

From what I can tell so far, it works on a Facebook style of platform where you must request to be “friends” with another user before you can view their virtual bookshelf and ratings. You can personalize your profile to your liking with as much or as little flair as you like.

Here is an explanation of the way it all works from the website: “Goodreads is a free website for book lovers. Imagine it as a large library that you can wander through and see everyone’s bookshelves, their reviews, and their ratings. You can also post your own reviews and catalog what you have read, are currently reading, and plan to read in the future. Don’t stop there – join a discussion group, start a book club, contact an author, and even post your own writing. ”

I am still a very basic user at this point and have yet to divide my “shelves” into categories–i.e. “mindless, highly commercialized reads” for books like The Twilight and Harry Potter sagas. But, I see this as a wonderful way to keep track of the books I have read and share my love of reading with others. It taps into the whole reason I started this blog in the first place–discussing books I have loved/hated and the ways they have influenced my thoughts and life is one of my favorite things to do.

Also, I have not looked into this much yet but I see that there is a program for burgeoning authors on the site. This could also be an amazing gateway tool if you are trying to get someone to look at your work.

So, if you are interested in creating your own virtual shelves and want to be friends, join up and let me know so I can grant you access to my personal library.

Leave a Reply

