“Eat, Pray, Love” – Film Starring Julia Roberts

As you might know if you have read my blog before, I read “Eat, Pray, Love” earlier in the year and found it to be quite lacking in depth. Gilbert is obviously a great writer but her story left a bad taste in my mouth. In the post, I referenced how self-centered Elizabeth Gilbert seemed to be and was shocked when I had numerous conversations with fellow readers who did not seem to get that vibe as much as I did.

Those same Gilbert fanatics that loved the book seemed to be even more excited that Julia Roberts landed the role playing Gilbert in the film adaptation and I must admit, their excitement was a little contagious. As a forever and always Julia Roberts fan, I was even a little excited to see her in this film despite my distaste for the story.

However, before I even looked up the first movie times available at my local theaters, I read the reviews on Rotten Tomatoes (if you have never used this website to read about movies, you are missing out).

Now that movie tickets are $10 here, I choose my theater viewing experiences carefully. I mean, Netflix movies for a month cost less than $10… That being said, the reviews were not good. I was shocked because it seemed that most of the critics acted as if it had just dawned on them that Gilbert is a selfish young woman who spent a year (and significant funds) to “find herself” and we are supposed to feel sorry for her because she is unhappy. That is what I have been saying all along!

I suppose that folks can get caught up in Gilbert’s brilliant writing style and description of a magical lifestyle rather than acknowledging the obvious points the critics were making about the film. However, without the shelter of Gilbert’s writing, the story portrayed on the screen reveals mainly her selfishness and irrationality.

The settings are beautiful, Roberts is wonderful and the cinematography is fantastic. It is the story that bugged me before and bugs me now. As a side note, I heard that Julia Roberts put on a whopping seven pounds for the Italy portion of the film and the scene showed her struggling to get into her former size of jeans is just infuriating. Tell me one female who ever endures an experience like this laughing and giggling about how funny it is that she has gained weight. Don’t know one? I didn’t think so.

Soapbox aside, this film is not worth the $10 ticket price, even to see Julia on the big screen.

3 thoughts on ““Eat, Pray, Love” – Film Starring Julia Roberts

  1. Interesting! I have tried to start reading this book at least five times and just can’t get into it. Everyone seemed to be raving about it so I thought I was crazy. Enjoyed reading your thoughts on the book and the film.

Leave a Reply

