The Social Network – Starring Jesse Eisenberg

When I first saw the previews for this film, I knew it was going to be one I would really enjoy. The movie tells the story behind the development of Facebook, a phenomenon that has altered our world while we watched it happen. I vividly remember being a senior in high school and watching my college friends get on this website and show me pictures of boys they were interested in, their friends, etc. It was amazing and brilliant–and also so obvious.

I am sure that if you are reading this blog, an example of social media, you probably know enough about the movie without me recounting the plot for you, but I just wanted to post about it because I thought it really was a phenomenal film. Justin Timberlake plays Sean Parker, founder of Napster and mentor of sorts to young Mark Zuckerburg, and he truly did a wonderful job. I enjoyed the irony of his playing the role of someone who created a way to get music illegally when he himself is a musician.

The movie itself will make you go home and Wikipedia all of the folks involved with Facebook’s creation. I spent significant time reading about Eduardo Saverin, who is just three years older than me, and the co-founder of a multi-billion dollar company whom the film shows being completely screwed over (for lack of a better term) to losing his share of 30% of the stock to just 0.03%.

While the film is a fictionalized version of the tale of Facebook’s creation, I decided at the end of the film that I was not quite sure what to think of how Mark Zuckerburg handled the explosive, exponential growth and the loyalties to the various people involved. I think the filmed portrayed him negatively, while he just publicly gave $100 million to fund Newark’s public school system. At the end of the day, he was just 19 or 20, having to make big decisions with big price tags. I have a hard time believing that Zuckerburg could have betrayed his best friend (Saverin) so easily and so completely. The film also shows nothing of his parents or of a family life. I am curious about that dynamic, as well.

On another interesting note, the twins the film portrays (Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss) are actually played by just one actor, Armie Hammer. Pretty impressive!

I would wholeheartedly recommend seeing this film if you are even have the slightest inkling of interest in Facebook and its story. It was a good one. Now, I just need to find Catfish in a theater nearby… Have any of you readers seen it?

Leave a Reply

