The Fantastic Mr. Fox – Directed by Wes Anderson

I must say, I was immediately drawn to this movie because of three things: Wes Anderson, George Clooney, and Meryl Streep. I loved The Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore (both directed by Anderson) and just adore the latter two actors. However, I am not sure if I am an animated, serious movie kind of person so it really was not a film that I enjoyed.

To explain a bit further, this film is based on a book by the same title written by Ronald Dahl (author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). It is about a family of foxes and the father, Mr. Fox, is strongly encouraged by his wife to end his career of chicken/squab stealing once they learn they are going to have a cub. Mr. Fox tries to pursue a career in journalism but is seduced back into his thieving ways. And so the plot thickens, so to speak…

This film has an absolutely stellar cast with additions to the two I provided above of Bill Murray (a regular in Wes Anderson films), Jason Schwartzman (star of Rushmore), Willem Dafoe, and Owen Wilson.

The one thing I did really enjoy is the way the animated characters reminded me of the actors that portrayed them. So often, there is a disconnect between the voices you hear and the figures you see on the screen. Ash reminded me so much of Schwartzman that I could not get over it.

At any rate, perhaps I just was not in the mood for this kind of film, but it just was not one that I really enjoyed. Rent it on your own and let me know what you think…

Leave a Reply

