Something Borrowed – Le Book by Emily Giffin

It being the Tuesday after the Fourth of July holiday, it seemed appropriate to write a review of Something Borrowed even though I finished it a couple of weeks ago. If you have read the story, you know that a portion of the plot takes place over the holiday weekend. But, if you also know me…you know that stories about infidelity just do not fly. I may have mentioned it before on this blog, but when I first saw the musical Camelot, I was furious about the affair between Lancelot and Gwenevere, even at the young age of 10.

All of that being said, when I saw the previews for the film adaptation of the story that included John Krasinski as one of the lead characters, I was curious to read the book and see what all the fuss was about. I don’t feel bad telling you that the plot revolves around an affair…well, multiple affairs…because it takes approximately 15 pages for that revelation to occur.

However, the thing that bugged me and made me so furious that I had to read something else in order to sleep at times, is that as readers we are supposed to feel sorry for the “other woman” sleeping with her best friend’s fiance. We are supposed to hear the saga of how the best friend (Darcy) has wronged our heroine since they were children and agree that she “deserves” the catch of the story, even if he is taken. And that just did not sit well with me. Even when the character of Darcy is impugned towards the end. Even when it all seems neatly wrapped up and tied with a perfect bow…

I do not buy it and I don’t like it. It teaches the young girls — because it is 13-16 year olds that are reading — that cheating is okay and sometimes it works out in your favor. It devalues integrity and loyalty and honesty for relationships. Now, I am not arguing that stories should teach a lesson by any means, but I was just annoyed that the popular chick lit of the day features characters wrapped up in affairs as the symbol and model of “good” love.

Now, I have heard that Something Blue (le sequel) is actually the side of the story from Darcy’s perspective and though I have it on my shelf, I am not sure if I can take going through the story again. However, I might need to let Darcy vet her arguments since I am an objective reader, after all…

So onto my recommendations…the story is well written, the pages turn quickly, but the plot is just not my cup of tea for a good chick lit read. I think Emily Giffin may like love stories that include affairs/temptation because one of the other books I reviewed on my blog, Love the One You’re With, included these themes as well. Maybe Emily Giffin is just not the author for me.

Leave a Reply

