Life of Pi by Yann Martel

It has been a while since I picked up a piece of fiction-fiction. Meaning, a book filled with wonder and possibility — where reality doesn’t really matter. I think the last fiction adventure I had like this was Hunger Games, and I read the series nearly a year ago. At any rate, I have had Life of Pi for a few months and decided to pick it up while I was getting over being sick.

Wow, I was in for such a surprise and delight. I love picking up a book and beginning to read it without a clue as to what it is about. Such was the case for Life of Pi. I was immediately entranced by the telling of a tale, the stories of animals, and the journey of a castaway at sea. It was absolutely fascinating and I read it in three sittings.

The book also surprisingly deals heavily with religion and is thought provoking, to say the least. I believe Life of Pi is often used by book clubs and maybe even in schools because it offers so many opportunities for further discussion and the exploration of many high-minded topics.

And at the end, you are left with a choice as to what you think is the truth. (Read it and you will know exactly what I mean). This opportunity for imagination to flourish is rare and I valued it immensely as I finished this book. My only complaint? The book is quite graphic at times and I had a few unwanted nightmares. But that is just par for the course when you are reading such wonderful stories that expand your imagination so.

I would wholeheartedly recommend reading this book, but do so with an open mind and with the expectation that it won’t necessarily make sense or appeal to your rational senses.  That will make for a much more enjoyable experience.

Leave a Reply

