It’s been a while — “The Paris Wife” for Starters

Life can move along at such a surprising pace sometimes. Just when we find ourselves longing for the new season, we blink and another has passed by and the holidays are at our doorsteps. So it has been for me lately with a new job and a new husband. Wonderful blessings have enriched my year. And reading has been a little less important with wedding planning and any other manner of duties waiting in the wings.

But I have been reading, and wanted to start my catch-up round-up with the book that I just adored, The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. My interest in this book started after I watched Midnight in Paris, which I reviewed a few months ago on the blog. I was thinking about Hemingway, Fitzgerald, and all the greats of that era and how I wanted to go back and read many of the works I studied throughout my journey toward my English degree. I read for class back then, and reading for pleasure and intrigue is a completely different animal as anyone would attest.

So, a good friend of mine recommended The Paris Wife as it tells the tale of Hemingway’s first wife (in Paris), their heart-wrenching love story and its demise, and the journey of Hemingway becoming an author that defined an era. It was fascinating and I knew little biographical information about Hemingway beyond the few facts I dredged up from classroom notes taken many years ago, so much of the story was new to me. I loved being able to “watch” Hemingway become obsessed with the Bulls of Pamplona, and the book seems to have a perfect blend of fiction and historical elements that doesn’t make you resent the author for taking too much artistic license.

It really was a wonderful book and afterward I decided I wanted to read The Immovable Feast by Hemingway soon as it is written about Hadley (his Paris wife).

Overall, this is a great book for lovers of the era, for those just stating to become interested in Hemingway, or for those simply interested in a well-told story.

Leave a Reply

